Marine energy - Wave, tidal and other water current converters

IEC TC-114 was formally established by the IEC in 2007 and held its inaugural plenary meeting in May 2008 in Ottawa, Canada.  The current TC-114 leadership team is as follows:

  • Chairman: Mr. Jonathan Colby of the United States
  • Secretariat: National Committee of the United Kingdom
  • Secretary: Mr. Danny Peacock (British Standards Institute)
  • Technical Officer: Mr. Charles Jacquemart (IEC)

The mission and scope of TC-114 was defined during the first plenary session and is as follows: “To prepare international standards for marine energy conversion systems. The primary focus will be on conversion of wave, tidal and other water current energy into electrical energy, although other conversion methods, systems and products are included. Tidal barrage and dam installations, as covered by TC-4, are excluded.”

TC-114 establishes Project Teams (PT), ad-Hoc Groups (AHG), Maintenance Teams (MT) and liaisons with other IEC Technical Committees as needed.  TC-114 has formal liaisons with TC-4 (Conventional Hydopower) and TC-88 (Wind), and SC 8A (Grid Integration of Renwable Energy Generation) and informal liaisons are established with other organizations both within and outside IEC as needed.

Each PT and AHG is led by a Convener.  Conveners are typically appointed by the National Committee that submits a New Work Item Proposal (NWIP) that TC-114 has approved.

TC-114 holds one plenary meeting each year, usually in the Spring, where delegates from every National Committee meet to deliver progress reports, discuss NWIPs, plan for the coming year and develop means to streamline TC-114 standards-development processes.